Español Flag Español

Car Accident FAQs

It is natural to have a lot of questions after a car crash. After all, you likely now have a lot to deal with ─ finding medical care, getting your car fixed, and figuring out who will pay for everything.

It’s important to get the answers you need now so you can get back on your feet as quickly as possible ─ and protect any future claim for compensation. At The Law Offices of Hilda Sibrian, we are here to answer your questions and provide you with the legal guidance you need during this stressful time.

I just had a car accident. What should I do now?

There are four crucial steps to take after a car crash:

● Call the police: If there was significant property damage or serious injuries after the crash, it’s the law in Texas that you must report it.

● Seek medical help: Your health should be your first priority after an accident, so you should speak to a doctor as soon as possible. Also, seeking medical attention right away will ensure your injuries are properly documented. 

● Save any evidence you collect: This includes any photos you took at the scene, the contact information for any witnesses, medical bills, the accident report, and anything else related to your crash. 

● Contact an attorney: There will be many people who want to talk to you after an accident ─ especially insurance adjusters. An attorney will manage these communications, protect your rights, and fight for the full and fair compensation you deserve. 

My car is wrecked. Should I take pictures?

Yes. Photos are some of the best pieces of evidence that can help prove liability and document damages. Pictures can help show how the crash happened and how much damage your vehicle sustained. In addition, photos of your injuries immediately after a crash can be valuable evidence. Take as many pictures as possible. 

What should I avoid doing after an accident?

Do not forget to contact the police as it is the law in Texas that you do this. However, when you talk to the police, do not discuss your injuries, apologize, or admit fault.  

Also, do not provide a recorded statement to the insurance company. The other driver’s insurance company may ask for one, but you are under no obligation to provide it. Anything you say in this statement will be used against you later, so simply tell them you will speak to an attorney and that your attorney will get in touch with them.

Lastly, do not wait too long to file your car accident claim. In Texas, car accident victims have only two years to file their claim. If you wait longer than this, you will likely be barred from receiving any compensation at all. 

What if I don’t know who caused my accident?

Our attorneys will conduct a thorough investigation to show who was at fault for your crash, as well as all potential sources of compensation. In the case of a hit-and-run driver, we will look to your own insurance policy to determine whether you have uninsured motorist coverage to help cover damages.

Truck accident with injuries to spine, chest, and knees. LEGAL FEES: $280,000
EXPENSES: $33,150
View All Case Studies🡒


What if the person who hit me does not have insurance?

If you are in an accident that is the fault of a driver who does not have insurance, you could file a lawsuit directly against the driver. However, if the person doesn’t have insurance, it’s unlikely that you will recover any compensation from them. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (through your own insurance company) may be an option for pursuing the money you need to help recover from your injuries. 

How much time do I have after my accident to decide whether or not to sue?

You have two years to file a car accident claim in Texas. However, you should speak to an attorney as soon as possible after your crash. During a free consultation with the attorney, you can get a better understanding of whether or not you have a valid claim. If you do, the attorney will then need to investigate the accident, gather evidence, and collect medical records. All of this takes time, so you should seek legal advice as soon as possible after the crash. 

Do I really need an attorney after an accident?

Not every car accident will require the help of an attorney afterward. However, if you were seriously hurt in a car crash, you need an attorney. You will incur high medical bills and may be unable to return to work. You may also face expenses in the future that need to be taken into account. An attorney can help you demand full and fair compensation for these losses and advise you on any settlement offers. 

Can I still get my medical bills paid if I was partially at fault for the accident?

Texas is a modified comparative fault state. This means that as long as you were less than 51 percent at fault for the crash, you can still file a claim for compensation. However, the amount of compensation you recover can be reduced by your percentage of fault. So, for example, if your medical bills and other losses totaled $100,000, but you were 10 percent at fault for your crash, your compensation may be reduced by $10,000. 

How long will it take to resolve my personal injury case?

Unfortunately, there is no way to determine how long any personal injury case will take. It depends on many factors, including the severity of your injuries, how challenging it is to determine fault, and how much in damages or losses you sustained. After an accident, an attorney can advise on how long your case will take. Some cases will settle in a few months, while others may take several years. 


Why should I choose the Law Offices of Hilda Sibrian?

At The Law Offices of Hilda Sibrian, we know how devastating car accidents are for victims and their families. Our Houston car accident attorneys aggressively pursue the compensation victims need to help them recover as quickly as possible so they can move forward with their lives. 

If you’ve been hurt in a car accident, contact us today to schedule your free case review so we can get started on your claim.


© Copyright 2020 The Law Offices of Hilda Sibrian